Inside Le Capitole

My mom is currently visiting me in Toulouse, which means I am seeing much more of the city than normal. Today we visited the Capitol (my header image). I would never have thought to go inside, after all it is a working city hall, so I thought it would be full of government offices. Oh no.

Upon entering, you are greeted by a beautiful staircase.

At the top of the staircase, there are three main halls, each with a different theme.

Salle Gervais

Salle Gervais is filled with paintings by the painter Paul Gervais, of Toulouse, which represent love in its many different stages.

Ceiling detail: Cupid with his bow and arrow

Salle Henri Martin

The second hall, my favorite, is filled with paintings by another famous painter from Toulouse: Henri Martin.


The left side of the hall features paintings representing the four seasons.

Summer and Autumn

The right side of the room features a large painting depicting famous Toulousans, including the artist himself, strolling along the Garonne River.

I loved this last painting, it reminds me of Vlad showing me around Toulouse my first day.

Salle des Illustres

The last hall, the Hall of the Illustrious, honors Toulouse’s famous sons, including mathmeticians, scientists, generals, painters, etc.

They use this hall for wedding receptions for citizens of Toulouse. What an amazing venue!

The ceiling is so ornate, and covered in beautiful paintings.

Dramatic. That’s the only acceptable way to represent France in paintings.

I enjoyed visiting the Capitol because I learned more about Toulouse’s past and the important people and events that shaped the city and France.

About emily

In love with all things travel and culture.
This entry was posted in Around Toulouse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Inside Le Capitole

  1. Amanda says:

    Wow, it’s beautiful…not really where I would expect to see cupid however🙂

  2. Jeff Webb says:

    WOW… zee french zay are into zee art oui? zee art, it is everywhere no.

  3. TBM says:

    I love when people visit since I get out more and see the place I live in through their eyes.

Leave a Reply

