Churches of Toulouse Pt 2

My favorite church that I have visited so far in Toulouse is Saint Pierre des Chartreux. Its beauty and elegance was a complete surprise. The church building is surrounded by other buildings, so from the street all you see is literally a plain wooden door, which you enter to find yourself in an empty gray stone hall. When you enter the hall , there is another door, which you open to see the inside of the church.

To me, this is exquisite. Instead of gaudy gold gild, the walls are plain white. The main decor is the paintings and the marble, which is of a soft palette of cream, gray, pink and sea foam green. My mom and I stood and admired the ceiling until our necks hurt. It was just stunning. I can’t imagine the amount of work and skill that went into such a beautiful detailed marble ceiling.

I couldn’t stop staring at the dome: the green columns, the wreaths above each window, all the floral pieces with blue borders in a perfect weaving shape, the centerpiece at the very top. It’s too much!

Endless details. Without being overwhelming, I might add.

I didn’t want to tear myself away from underneath the dome, but a man in one of the side chapels, the only other person in the church (who turned out to be the priest, although we didn’t know at first because he  had on “normal” clothes), motioned us over to a hallway where we could walk around the main altar and back to the choir and organ. (Let me just add, that’s another reason I liked this church, it was real, not a tourist attraction. They didn’t rope off sections and make you pay to cross the rope.)

Upon reaching the other other side of the alter, we saw that along the choir walls were beautiful paintings.

I loved the intermittent gold and white reliefs; I’m sure they represent something but I’m not sure what. They are not Biblical, but tell other stories.

See? A woman holding a fish under a tree is too specific to be random, yet I’m sure there is no such Biblical story.

The seats in the choir are all different faces

The colors of the chapel ceilings are chipped but still vibrant

I love this church because in the midst of all this beauty, you will likely be alone, left to relish, discover and enjoy at your own pace.

Simplicity is what leads to quiet reflection, not ornateness.

Stay tuned for even more churches of Toulouse.

About emily

In love with all things travel and culture.
This entry was posted in Around Toulouse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Churches of Toulouse Pt 2

  1. jeff webb says:

    well… i’m speechless…

  2. Quite a challenge getting good photos in a church, do you use a tripod and long exposure or do you set up lots of flash guns or are you just lucky. I have not got my act sorted out yet to my satisfaction.

    • Hi thanks for your comment! I really don’t know anything about cameras. I don’t own a tripod or have long exposure, and I don’t even know what flash guns are! My camera is just a simple Canon PowerShot.

  3. Kathy says:

    Emily the churches and the gardens are so beautiful!! I’m so glad you are getting to ecperience such beauty!! Good luck and God be with you! Love Larry & Kathy Johnson

    • emilytoulouse says:

      Hi Kathy!! Thank you so much for your comment and I’m so glad you like my pictures. I’m glad to know you are reading my blog

Leave a Reply

