A Parisian Birthday

So this Friday was my birthday- the big 21 (at least 21 is big in the US). To celebrate, my mom and I went to Paris to see Vlad. What better way to spend your birthday! I certainly never dreamed I would be spending my 21st birthday in Paris with my mom and French boyfriend, but hey, dreams really do come true.

I don’t know about you, but I always like to celebrate my birthday over the course of several days, and this weekend was no different. Friday night, the night of my actual birthday, Vlad and I went to dinner in Montmartre, where I was staying with my mom.

Even though I have been able to drink in France for the last 3 years, (5 for beer and wine) I ordered a Mojito so I could feel like I was actually celebrating a milestone.

Thanks Vlad

Mojitos aren’t exactly a French specialty, but dinner was delicious! I ordered mussels à la provençale with fries.

For dessert, what could be better than a crêpe au nutella? Right around the corner from our apartment is a crêperie that is always busy.

Enjoying my crepe in the entrance hall out of the cold. My poor little red nose!

Saturday night Vlad and I had dinner with 2 French friends who were exchange students with him at my university last year. We ate outside at a little cafe with a view of the Eiffel Tower.

(I apologize for the quality of these photos, my camera had problems focusing last night. Let’s just pretend it adds a *magical* quality to the pictures.)

Last year I was eating enchiladas with them that my mom made for my birthday, now this year we’re eating at a cafe in front of the Eiffel Tower.

They also bought me macarons! My first macarons ever!

In spite of the cold and rain, I had a great weekend. I’ll always remember my first birthday in Paris.

Vlad wasn’t cold at all

About emily

In love with all things travel and culture.
This entry was posted in Around France and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Parisian Birthday

  1. Maureen Krivo says:

    Happy birthday, Emily! Looks like a very special weekend!

  2. Vladimir says:

    Rectification: I was very cold too!😀
    Precision: the mussels were not as good as my dad’s one though.
    Suggestion: you should have spoken about the Musée de l’Orangerie as well, with the outstanding paintings by Claude Monnet!

    • emilytoulouse says:

      Clarification: The caption was sarcasm…you were clearly shivering in the picture…That’s why it’s funny…

      Suggestion: Be patient! I also haven’t talked about Eglise de la Madeleine yet either. I try to group my pictures and stories so they are the most coherent.

  3. Vladimir says:

    The picture of you and your mom Place de la Concorde is so beautiful!

  4. BJ Webb says:

    Miss “E”, we are so glad you had a great birthday. Wish we could have been there to celebrate with you. Love you and waiting for your safe return home. Papa and BJ

  5. Covetotop says:

    ¡¡Muchas felicidades!!

  6. Beth Webb says:

    I have been having some trouble with my computer and just now able to get your pictures and send you a belated birthday wish! Amazing pictures and I hope you had a great birthday and great times. Wish I was there also! Can’t wait to see you when you get home! Tell your Mom HI for us!

  7. Jeff Webb says:

    QUANTIFICATION: counting to 21 amazing years!
    SPECIALIZATION: int’l affairs at sam nunn liberal arts school, ga tech & world traveler
    RAMIFICATION: support daddy when he gets old (er)
    SUGGESTIFICATION: keep blogging. the rest of us are having a blast reading them!

Leave a Reply

