Montmartre

This weekend when I went to Paris, I stayed in Montmartre. Montmartre, on the north end of Paris, used to be its own village, but as Paris grew it was incorporated into the city. It is the home of the famous Moulin Rouge cabaret and has been a center of creativity and freedom for generations. Montmartre is also the setting of the film Amelie, if you’ve seen it. I was so glad I got the chance to spend the weekend here; the feeling is so different from the rest of Paris. Here are some shots from my weekend in Montmartre.

The famous church Sacré Cœur (Sacred Heart)

Climbing the steps to Sacré Cœur

The panorama view of Paris from the steps of Sacré Cœur

Montmartre still has a village feel.

The only vineyard in Paris is in Montmartre

One of the famous windmills

Montmartre’s freedom of expression has made it a haven for artists, including Dali, Monet, Modigliani, Picasso and Van Gogh.

Van Gogh’s house

Sacré Cœur is visible from most streets

The dome of Les Invalides and rooftops of Montmartre

Pizzeria where I ate pizza at 1 am Thurs night and Creperie where I had my birthday crepe Fri night

 

About emily

In love with all things travel and culture.
This entry was posted in Around France and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Montmartre

  1. Vladimir says:

    Amazing pictures and amazing selection my angel! As for me, it was the first time (i think, i’m not taken into account when i was a child) I’ve ever been in Montmartre, I’m so glad I had the chance to walk these streets thanks to you and your mom!

  2. Vladimir says:

    And the Church is simply breathtaking ! …

  3. Jeff Webb says:

    wow, the view from Sacré Cœur was tres’ impressive. great pictures. what an awesome time and trip for your 21st BD. this is one BD you won’t forget for a few weeks.

    • emilytoulouse says:

      For a few weeks?! lol

      Yes the view is amazing, unfortunately you can’t see the Eiffel Tower from that angel though

  4. Montmartre is such a gem, isn’t it? Again, great pictures. Its artistic history adds so much character and charm to it as well. Speaking of which, I scored a major find in Montmartre one day by accident, and I wrote about it in my post “Cleaning Brushes with Picasso” http://wp.me/p1dHNL-1SPRvc. Maybe you’ll find it interesting.

    Thanks for sharing these great views of the neighborhood!

  5. jeff webb says:

    emily, every time i come back to look at your photos i realize more and more how good these photos are.

Leave a Reply

