Wandering through Les Carmes

As I’m in the last half of my stay in Toulouse I’m starting to get that rushed feeling – “There’s so many things I haven’t seen! I have to cover every inch of the city in the next 6 weeks!” Today was a beautiful sunny day, and work was slow after everyone in France stayed up until 5:30 am to watch the election results, so I took the afternoon to explore a section of Toulouse I’m not familiar with: Carmes.

I work in the upper left corner of the map, and the city center is, well, at the center, while Les Carmes is in the lower right corner.

I had planned on going to Carmes just to see 3 churches, but I ended up being so enamored with this part of town that I wandered around aimlessly for 3 hours taking pictures! What I loved about Carmes is the grandiose, yet unique, architecture.

(Sidenote: what a beautiful sky. I’m just noticing, but it’s a different color in each picture.)

A shadow clock. It wasn’t correct, but it perhaps it doesn’t take Daylight Savings Time into account.

I kept trying to steer myself in the “right” direction, but I kept getting sidetracked by winding little side streets just begging to be explored. So I threw the map in my bag and just went where I wanted.

How could you not go down this street??

I’ve professed my love for the windows of Toulouse before, but the windows in Carmes took my adoration to a whole new level.

I love the reflection of the trees in the window panes.

About this time the thought crossed my mind “I have no idea where I am, but I’m happy.” Alone in a new place, surrounded by beauty, with no one to answer to but yourself and nothing to do but take it all in. Feelings like that make all the difficulties, loneliness, and frustration of travelling alone worth it.

After admiring the windows, I began to notice the doors. Then I feel madly in love with them as well and could barely walk down the street without taking a picture of every doorway! I did take quite a lot, but that will have to be another post.

What I love about Carmes that it different from the rest of Toulouse is that there are less cars, less people, and less noise on the streets. Carmes is more peaceful and refined than the other areas of Toulouse. Street level is as lovely as the rest of the building.

So that’s a brief introduction to Les Carmes. I will be posting soon about my newfound love for doorways, L’hôtel de Pierre, and Notre Dame de la Dalbade, all in Carmes.

About emily

In love with all things travel and culture.
This entry was posted in Around Toulouse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wandering through Les Carmes

  1. Mom says:

    Guess we just skipped over that area on our way to the Jardin des Plantes.
    It is so quaint and serene. Glad you had the chance to explore!

  2. jeff webb says:

    WOW… aren’t you glad you didn’t miss this! this is exactly what you would hope a town in the “ze zouse” of france would look like. i know toulouse is not small but this part makes you feel it is.

  3. Pingback: Churches of Toulouse Pt 6 | Life in La Ville Rose

Leave a Reply

