The Best Discovery Yet

Before I tell you what I have discovered that has made me so happy, I need to give a bit of background.

My favorite food is Mexican food, and in the US I eat it quite frequently. Ok, that’s out of the way. Moving on.

As for French food, it’s a bit like French people. Wonderful, amazing, nary a flaw, and nothing to complain about. And yet, missing some spice, some pop, some sabor. An example: one of my favorite foods I’ve eaten in France is by far mussels. Michel makes them every now and then and I’ll be darned if they’re not the best you’ve ever had. One night as I was devouring them, Liliana commented on how much I love them. “You like spicy food don’t you?” You’re probably thinking, “Wait. Mussels aren’t spicy.” Exactly.

I’ve been missing a bit of spice in my life. I was hoping in France there would be a lot of halal* food stands, like in NYC. (Those $4 gyros are the best thing about NYC.) Toulouse is so close to North Africa after all. But alas, I haven’t seen that many. But then yesterday I stumbled across an Algerian restaurant that sells kebabs on the street, and I knew I had to try it. Heaven. So today I went back and honestly I would be happy eating there everyday for the next 5 weeks.

Let me walk you through it.

First I walk past this beautiful building:

Then I turn the corner:

It’s so good there’s a line out the door.

Then I order this:

Then I take it here to eat:

Place Wilson

Lunchtime just got upgraded.

*For my family – “Halal” is the Muslim equivalent of Kosher.

About emily

In love with all things travel and culture.
This entry was posted in Around Toulouse, Living in France and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Best Discovery Yet

  1. papa says:

    I just knew you would find a good place to eat !
    Be safe
    Papa

  2. jeffswebb says:

    that looks delicious!!! so glad you found something else you enjoy eating so much, and the scenery ain’t bad either🙂

  3. amelie88 says:

    Oh my gosh, Place Wilson… you just brought me back. Wow! I lived near Cathedrale Sainte Etienne just off the Grand Rond park so I was pretty centrally located.

  4. LaVagabonde says:

    Finding good places to eat in an adopted country is such a joy. Decent restaurants are so rare in Budapest…I found an awesome Mexican place here a couple of years ago and I eat there every week. LOL.

Leave a Reply

