The Mysterious Port-a-potties

So, I’m back. After being sick and then 4 days in Paris when my laptop decided it no longer wanted to support Vlad’s internet, I am finally going to post something. I can’t wait to show you the amazing photos Vlad took of Paris from the top of the Arc de Triomphe, but before I wait for all those pictures to load, I saw a picture he took that brought back a very funny memory. For those of you who don’t have the joy of being with someone whose mother tongue is not your own, here is a brief glimpse of what it’s like.

As Vlad and I were wandering around the islands in the Seine, he stopped to take this beautiful picture of Notre Dame.

Me: I wish those ugly port-a-potties weren’t there, I hate them.

Vlad: Really, I love them.

Me: Wait. Why?

Vlad: I think they add a mysterious effect, don’t you?

Me: What?? Mysterious? They add a really gross and disgusting effect.

*staring at each other as realization starts the slow process of dawning*

Vlad: Wait… what are you talking about?

Me: The port-a-potties.

Vlad: What are port-a-potties?

Me: Those green and blue things people go to the bathroom in.

Vlad: Ooooooh, I thought you were talking about those arches on the back of the church!

Me: No those are flying buttresses.

It’s an easy mistake.

UPDATE: I just called Vlad and told him to read my blog. “I wrote about the port-a-potties!”

“What’s that?”

….

About emily

In love with all things travel and culture.
This entry was posted in Around France and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Mysterious Port-a-potties

  1. amelie88 says:

    Haha, that was a funny misunderstanding. Porta-potty is not usually a word people learn and there are so many different words for it (I’ve heard to it referred as a Portalette as well). I’m not surprised Vlad didn’t know it!

  2. elisaruland says:

    Funny, talk about cultural confusion! I remember a South American friend of mine used to say “you’re stretching my leg” instead of your pulling my leg. It always made me laugh. I always knew what he was talking about, though!

  3. B>J> WEBB says:

    Miss “E”, that is so funny. I’m glad you are feeling better. See you soon.

  4. That was a cute story. It reminds me of how u shouldnt ask for a “napkin” at a restaurant in certain countries because they will probably think u need Kotex sanitary napkins.

Leave a Reply

