That Time of the Year

It’s Christmastime in Paris! Many streets and avenues are decorated, and some streets really go all out.

Vlad’s street, Avenue Bosquet, opted for simple white lights.

Vlad's street, Avenue Bosquet

The street across from Vlad’s apartment, Rue Cler, had blue banners that gave it a magical touch. Rue Cler is always lit up with restaurants, cafes, and markets. No creperies, unfortunately.

The best street yet. The lights traveled down the hanging icicles, giving the appearance of falling snow. With the Eiffel Tower in the background, it was truly a beautiful sight that the camera just can’t capture!

It’s amazing how simply adding a strand of lights can make something you see everyday a little more special. I can’t wait to start seeing the decorations in Toulouse.

About emily

In love with all things travel and culture.
This entry was posted in Around France and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to That Time of the Year

  1. DrFrood says:

    An American girl I met in Paris last year said that it was illegal under French law to publish photographs of the Eiffel Tower when it’s all lit up. This means that everyone has to buy the officially sanctioned ones.

    I thought she might be winding me up at the time. You know anything about this?!

    Writing about your expat stay in France seems like a rather lovely thing to do by the way.

    • If publishing photos of the Eiffel Tower lit up is wrong, then I don’t want to be right.
      But wow you’re right, I just looked it up on the Eiffel Tower’s website and you have to be granted permission first. Good thing there are millions upon millions of pictures of it at night therefore mine probably won’t be found.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      • DrFrood says:

        And here was me thinking that girl was being flirtatious with me…

        It’s better (Read: easier) to beg forgiveness than ask permission.

      • A wonderful motto haha. If they were really very serious about it I’m sure the rule would be better known. And I’m also sure they won’t find my little blog 😉

  2. Im glad u were brave and put these up. Last night I just watched Rick Steve’s travels in Europe segment on Paris. My favorite part was the tour car ride he paid to ride around Paris at night. So nice. thx again.

  3. michelle says:

    Mmmm. Lovely Rue Cler and your entire post sparkling with lights and feeling like Christmas. I was there in the autumn. I loved sitting up against the window at the Cafe Du Marche watching life go by over a cafe and pain au chocolat. Thank you for sharing your photos.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment! Watching the world pass from a cafe is one of my favorite past times here 🙂 And it’s amazing how a simple strand of lights can transform something you see everyday into something magical

Leave a comment